Be Bonafide Magazine Launch Party

I spent my Friday night attending the launch party for Be Bonafide magazine. Be Bonafide is a natural hair magazine made for everyday women and features every day women.

I’ve been natural for a little over three years now so when I heard that there was going to be a magazine for natural hair I was really excited. There’s really a void in the magazine market when it comes to natural hair. Most black hair magazines have a section dedicated to natural hair. But there aren’t really any magazines dedicated solely to natural hair.

The event was held at the wonderful NY Tracks Cafe in Brooklyn, NY.

Since I was one of the early birds I was able to get a free copy of the magazine.

It was definitely a pleasure to read. My favorite parts were the DIY hair conditioner recipe, the editorial on the history of black hair during slavery, and the diary entry (a personal account of what led Cassie Morales, the editor-in-chief, to go natural).

Since I had arrived early I had time to enjoy the food. I had a salmon burger and sweet potato fries (my new addiction). It was delicious!

I was also able to grab a photo-op with editor-in-chief Cassie Morales

 

The event was off to a late start but it was definitely worth the wait. First Cassie took the stage to explain her motivation behind creating the magazine and also gave a description of the content.

 

Then there was a beautiful live performance from spoken word artist The Werdsman.

 

At the end of the night everyone received a free jar of Beautiful Textures Curl Control Defining Pudding. I can’t wait to try it out on my hair.

 

Overall it was definitely a great night with some great people. I definitely will be reading future issues of Be Bonafide magazine. If you’re interested in reading the first issue you can get your copy here.

3 thoughts on “Be Bonafide Magazine Launch Party

  1. Pingback: Naturally Sexie’s H.A.R.I. Event |

  2. Hello there! This is my first comment here so
    I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same
    subjects? Thanks!

  3. Pingback: KNC Concepts Glam Sensation Beauty Expo |

Leave a Reply

