Do Teenaged Girls Have Their Priorities Straight?

Is it me or have todays teenaged girls completely lost sight of their priorities? I know it wasn’t that long ago that I was a teenager myself but I’m not sure if I’m just interacting with girls that are just different from what I was or if this just an entirely different generation of girls.

Of course boy craziness is something that’s always going to be a part of every girls adolescent years. I’m not saying I wasn’t boy crazy as a teen. I definitely was. But my sole goal in my teen years wasn’t just to have a boyfriend, or to be super sexy, or to brag about what I thought I knew about sex.

Yes I’m guilty of doing all of those things as a teen but that wasn’t what it was all about. I had dreams of going to a HBCU. I envisioned my college years would be something like the movie Drumline or School Daze. I had plans on joining a sorority. Granted I ended up changing my mind about most of those things but the point is I gave it a considerable amount of thought.

I actually got involved in extra curricular activities in school. I was a member of the choir. I took dance classes. I took voice lessons. I was co chair of the model congress. I was in a special program that allowed me to learn so much about information technology. I actually valued good grades.

I wasn’t alone when it came to being motivated either. All of my friends were this way. We were all smart and motivated. That didn’t mean we were uncool or nerdy. It didn’t mean we didn’t date or have our occasional teen drama. But despite all that we knew there was much more to life than that.

It seems like today’s teenaged girls have lost sight of that. Now when I talk to young girls all they ever have to talk about is boys and sex. I never hear then talk about their hopes and dreams for the future. I never hear them talk about what careers they want to pursue. I don’t even hear them talking about building lasting bonds with these boys. They think being a “bad bitch” or a freak is enough to keep their attention then they end up heartbroken when they realize that’s not the case.

A girl actually told me with a straight face that she wanted to be a stripper when she grew up. No self-respecting girl would’ve ever dared utter those words when I was teen.

So what’s the problem with today’s youth. Is it a lack of positive role models in the media? Is it bad parenting? What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Do Teenaged Girls Have Their Priorities Straight?

  1. As a teenager and just seeing girls who are younger than me, I think a lot of it has to do with society; it taints expectations of how “life” is supposed to be and a lot of girls nowadays believe that if they aren’t “sexy” or have a boyfriend or tons of friends or lots of money/opportunities then they’re missing out. They’re not so worried about consequences as much as they are about the actual journey. Sad generation we are.

  2. I think that, unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of positive role models in the media coupled with the fact that our society is so technology obsessed & uplifting attention whoring that people are forgetting common decency. There are no shows like Boy Meets World, Step by Step, Family Matters. It’s all love & ratchet, BBw, mob wives…people getting PAID to act a damn fool. The new generation will be completely lost without some strict parenting, & even then who knows?

    • Oh hell yeah good point. Reality tv doesn’t help the matter AT ALL! They dont have the old shool sit coms that had the nice family with the nice kids that got into some trouble here and there but for the most part were decent kids. That’s gone from tv now so yeah what are teens supposed to do when strippers get glorified on reality shows?

Leave a Reply

