Pics From Afro Punk Festival Day 1

I was super excited to attend Afro Punk Festival 2012. I love outdoor events like this. It was held in Commodore Barry Park in Brooklyn NY (my hometown of course).

The first think I did when I entered the park was take a look at who was on the stage. There wasn’t anyone performing though. They were in between sets.

So next I took a look at the skateboarding contest. It was pretty cool.

I really enjoyed watching because I’d never seen a skateboarding contest before. However, I have seen the tv series Scarred (where they show a whole bunch horrific freak accidents that happened during skateboarding, biking, roller blading, etc). Most of the time I was nervous someone would hurt themself. Here’s some footage of the skateboarding.

There were also live performances during the skateboarding contest. You can hear them in the video. Here is a picture of one of the performers.

;

What I also thought was pretty cool was that there was a cell phone charging station. That was a pretty unique and useful idea. I wouldn’t be surprised if I start seeing it at more events.

;

After checking out the skateboarding contest I took a look at what the vendors had to offer. As an etsy.com addict I already have an appreciation for handmade goods and there were plenty of them. It was a joy to check out all the creative things people made and sold.

Artwork for sale at Afro Punk Festival 2012

Jewelry for sale at Afro Punk Festival 2012

Pink Wig For Sale at Afro Punk Festival

;

I ended up buying myself two pairs of earrings.

I also grabbed a free sample of Hair Rules hydrating finishing cream along with a cute little button

Over all I dug the peaceful loving vibe of the event. I love it any time people of all colors, sexes, and ages get together and there’s no drama.

My only regret is that I couldn’t stay to catch Erykah Badu’s performance. But I’ll definitely be back for day 2 with Janelle Monae. Stay tuned folks part 2 is comming right up.

Leave a Reply

