Pics From Afro Punk Festival Day 2

If I could say anything about Afro Punk Fest day 2 it would be that it was way more crowded than day 1.  Word definitely spread about this very cool event.  Day 1 I was able to walk in without a problem or delay.  Day 2 there was a line that stretched all the way around the block.  Luckily it moved pretty quickly.

When I made it in the first thing that caught my eye was the group of people dancing their hearts out to the hip hop music the dj was playing.  The energy was crazy.  I wished I couldn’t join them but I wasn’t wearing proper dance attire.

Next I spotted something going on in the same are where they had the skating contest.  Only this time there weren’t only skateboards there were bikes too.  Again I’d never seen anybody do tricks like these on a bike in person before.  For some reason I was less nervous about the bikers injuring themselves (as opposed to the nervousness I felt when I watched the skaters).

I was able to grab some footage of the biking. Check it out.

After the biking I headed over to a different side of the park to enjoy whatever live performances were going on and ran into Jimmy McMillan aka Mr “the rent is too damn high!”.

I asked him for a photo before telling him that I agreed with him wholeheartedly.  The rent is too high. He responded’ “No the rent is too DAMN high”. lol.

After walking around a little longer I found the Nakimuli tent among the vendors. I spotted some friends of mine there.

 

I stopped to stay hi to my friends The Architect, JonnyGo Figure, and Amina Gonzales (creator of the Made By AG jewelry line).

 

After having a friendly chat with my homies I went to spread my blanket, sit on the grass and enjoy the atmosphere as I waited for Janelle Monae to perform. The day before I had missed Erykah Badu’s performance so I definitely didn’t want to miss Janelle Monae.

 

I had a good view of the Brooklyn Navy Yard

 

Unfortunately I sat in the grass for so long I missed the first few minutes of Janelle Monae’s performance. I was sitting on side of the park while she was performing on the other side.  By the time I got to the right side of the park I didn’t exactly have the best view.  This is best pic I could get of the performance.  My friend (who is considerably taller than me) had to take it for me.

 

I still enjoyed the show very much despite my not having a good view.  I never paid Janelle Monae much attention before this night but I left definitely wanting to hear more.

Overall I totally enjoyed my Afro Punk experience.  I’ll definitely be back next year.

Leave a Reply

