Why I Didn’t Go to Fashion’s Night Out

All the fashionistas out there already know what yesterday was.  It was the fourth annual Fashion’s Night Out.  This is night where fashion enthusiasts flock to their favorite stores for promotional events, discounts, possible celebrity sightings in some cases food and drinks.

I attented Fashion’s Night Out the first year by accident.  I happened to be out shopping anyway and heard a DJ playing loud music in Macys and I thought to myself “what the hell is going on?”.  I’d heard there would be this event called Fashion’s Night Out but I didn’t note the date nor did I realized I’d just stumbled upon it by chance.

I’ve tried to go in subsequent years but every year something more important comes up and Fashion’s Night Out takes a backseat every time.  I’m never psyched enough over Fashion’s Night Out to make it a priority. Why you ask?

  1. I shop when I feel like it, not when I’m told to. This is the precise reason I’ve never been keen on killing myself for Black Friday sales either.  Most of the time I know what I want and when I want it and I get it then and there.  If it happens to be on sale then great! But i’m usually not keen on buying something I didn’t want/need before just because it’s cheap or on sale.
  2. I’m not big on crowds.  I don’t like having to elbow my way through crowds of people just to shop. I don’t like long lines either. I’m notorious for shopping at times when stores are least likely to be crowded (like when I have a week day off and I can go in the middle of the day).
  3. I’m a chronic online shopper.  I’ve become addicted to skipping stores altogether and having what I want delivered to me. Especially since now sites are beginning to offer free shipping when u spend a certain amount of money.  I mentioned earlier I wasn’t big on Black Friday but I’m all for Cyber Monday.  Shopping online makes it so much easier to multi task. I can shop around and compare prices without leaving my house. Like I said earlier most of the time I know exactly what I want before hand. Online shopping allowes me to just type in what I’m looking for and BOOM it’s on my computer screen in seconds. I love it!

It would be wrong of me to not warn against the dangers of online shopping though.  First off when you’re buying clothes in particuler it’s a bit of a disadvantage to not be able to try them on first. It’s also a lot harder to return things you regret buying. And of course there’s the occasional online scammer that takes your money but doesn’t send you anything.  Still despite it’s drawbacks I’m still a huge fan of shopping online.

At this point you’re probably wondering what I did instead of going to Fashion’s Night Out this year.  I watched the MTV Video Music Awards of course! I haven’t missed an MTV Video Music Award show since 1994 when Michael Jackson made out with Lisa Marie Presley.  I couldn’t break 18 years of tradition.

So do you go to Fashion’s Night Out? How was it?

Leave a Reply

